Follow us on our journey and travel around the world…

Banau and it’s Rice Terraces


Our bus company was called Florida…isn’t that funny? We were not lucky enough to get one of the new buses; instead we got one with air freshener. Ryan & I were prepared with our neck pillows and Blankets, which made the 10-hour trip somewhat comfortable. According to Ryan, our bus blew a tire in the middle of the night, and we were stopped for about 2 hours…I slept through it.

We stayed at the People’s Lodge…what can I say about it?… It was cheap. We met our tour guide Jim at the lobby, who negotiated with me until I book a trip with him. This was a full day trip to Batad Rice Terraces, or so we thought. Little did we know that this was a die-hard-hike or a hike to die for…literately; I almost died.

The tour started with a Jeepney taking us to Batad, about 1-hour away from Banaue. Then we went downhill walking, until we arrived at a restaurant. We decided to have lunch first and then continue the hike. Here we met a group of tourists, which just returned from the hike. They gave us some words of encouragement…”Don’t do it!” We thought we are here…let’s do it! After a nice lunch we headed down…and down…and down…it never ended. The views were amazing; I couldn’t stop taking pictures of the amphitheater style terraces. After about 2 hours, we finally made it to Tappiyah Falls. We rested for a little and then started our way back up. After about half an hour hike, I started asking myself…whose idea was this??? It was mine…so I shifted my energy to start asking… are we there yet? I couldn’t believe it when we arrived to the top. I was completely wet in sweat from head to toe, but we made it!!! It was the best feeling ever, Ryan and I agreed, we would never hike rice terraces again. We returned to Banau, took a much needed shower and went for dinner with our new soon to be friends Oliver and Christine at Vegas Restaurant.

Comments are closed.